KathyH58

By KathyH58

June 14

Rhododendrons on a job today.
Even though I have never attended this church, several years ago I was asked to take care of the gardens there. I have made some changes in the gardens, but nothing major.
Last fall they cut a few overgrown evergreens down to make their new sign more visible. I get to pick out some new plants for that area. These rhododendrons are still partially blocking the sign. In the fall they are going to be moved to another section of the church property. I can make the area much more attractive and in doing so, make it easier to maintain.
Things seem to have settled down with my helpers. Joel and Ryan work well together and I will be starting to put them on more jobs by themselves. The 2 part timers that I hired, one starts her regular rotation tomorrow and the other one on Monday. I also have another new gal starting tomorrow, she sounds like she will be a good fit for the team.
After the guy didn't show up for the quote on Sunday, I was wondering where I could find someone. I was on the Next Door app and saw someone had posted an ad that he would build decks and do other outdoor handyman work. I asked him if he could build raised beds. He said yes, and we arranged to meet at the jobsite today. He showed up, and he says he will have a quote ready for me in a couple of days. Like me, he doesn't understand these people who don't bother to show up. All they have to do is send a text or make a quick phone call to cancel. Or they could say no, they are too busy. 
We managed to work this morning. It rained overnight, then we had showers off and on all day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.