A special drum

For National Indigenous Peoples Day.
Several years ago, maybe 2001, I had arranged for an Indigenous elder from Cowichan Tribes to do a drum-making workshop with the students. He was going to supply all the hides and frames for each student and for me. I was excited that I'd have a chance to learn from him and make my own drum. As it turned out, our Indigenous Australian friend, an educator and professor, was visiting, and of course I invited him to the workshop and to make a drum. So I didn't get a chance to make one, but I loved wandering around with the camera, watching the process as the drums were being made, and my friend was so delighted with his drum! He wondered if he might have an issue with it at customs when he went home, but he didn't.
One of the students, Mistea, very kindly gave her drum to me after having a Cowichan Tribes artist paint the hummingbird on it because she knew I love hummers. A wonderful example of the generosity of Indigenous people. The artist, Stuart Pagaduan, is a friend and has made incredible strides with his artistic talent. He is also highly regarded as the Hul'q'umi'num language and cultural advisor for the district. He designed the new logo for the local school district.
I worked for many years as a coordinator for and instructor in a program called NITEP, part of the Faculty of Education at UBC. It was a program for Indigenous people who wanted to become teachers. I loved the work, I loved the students, and I loved the chance to learn from them, from colleagues and from guests. What a privilege! The recent news about the terrible treatment of Indigenous students in residential schools and any news about racism directed towards Indigenous peoples sure isn't news to me. I've heard so many disturbing stories. We need to celebrate diversity and open our hearts to others!
If you're interested in seeing the doe with the single fawn, I added some images from today here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.