Penrith Castle

"Constructed in the late 1390s... the castle was more of a luxurious domestic complex than a border fortress... Though in ruins, the castle preserves traces of floor levels, doorways, fireplaces kitchens, toilets, and a well." (Excerpts taken from the information board.)

I was in Penrith today for lunch with an ex-colleague. I arrived a little early and was able to find an independent bookshop - Hedgehog Books - and buy a birthday present for Dom.

After that, I met up with Phil, and it was a nice enough day to sit outside to eat. He runs his own business now, and we have a lot more in common now than we did when we worked together, so the time passed easily, and I would have stayed longer if it hadn't been for train cancellations and what looked like my one shot at getting home!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.