A Girl in Winter

Today's the day ................... for Philip Larkin

I've just finished reading this book by Philip Larkin - his second novel written in 1947 - and I have to say that I enjoyed it.

Considering that I was a student at Hull University back in the late 60s and early 70s, when Philip Larkin was Chief Librarian and engaged in some very important writing, I knew very little about him.  I certainly had never read any of his novels so when I saw this one in a second-hand bookshop, I felt I should give it a go.

Philip Larkin graduated from Oxford University in 1943 with a 1st Class degree in English Language and Literature.  He went on to become a librarian and it was during the thirty years he worked with distinction as university librarian at the Brynmor Jones Library at the University of Hull that he produced the greater part of his published work. His poems are marked by what Andrew Motion calls 'a very English, glum accuracy' about emotions, places, and relationships, and what Donald Davie described as 'lowered sights and diminished expectations'.

As a science undergraduate, I seemed to have managed to avoid any contact whatsoever with this icon of english literature, who remains to this day 'one of Britain's most popular poets'.  I would be very interested to read anyone's opinion of him or anything else anyone might have to say .....................?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.