Fine, I'll eat it

The rabbit never ever ate the lettuce I planted to distract her. Today, for Silly Saturday, I decided I'd eat it. 

My friend and I had plans to give each other social interaction today. The golf course park has been made into a gigantic native plant park. This is the friend who let me shoot her wedding and ripped up a bunch of her lawn for native plants. She is now trying to get pregnant and is a "geriatric millennial!" What a phrase. This is the actual term. 

I saw milkweed for the first time. 

In the extra is another plant we saw. My iPhone says it is pokeweed. It is also called inkberry. (Evie, sol.)

We saw the invasive native Carolina horsenettle all over. Brambleblossom, yes, the bees loved it. 


While the park has always had an interesting bird population it seemed to me that it had many more birds this visit than it did last year. 


<deleted rant about everyone I would like to yell at - and it doesn't even include liars or hypocrites> 


<and I was going to write other stuff but Kate made me laugh at exactly the right moment so consider yourself spared>


I also <subject change> told my "geriatric millennial" friend she absolutely has to see Good Luck to You, Leo Grande. You do too. I don't care, see it. 


Russia is winning small amounts of territory. But. Western intelligence and military experts say that it is paying a higher price than it can sustain to do so and will soon exhaust its combat capabilities. No country could sustain the rate at which they are using their artillery. They are suffering huge losses. Boris Johnson summed it up by saying Russia will only be able to continue to fight for the next few months before exhausting its resources. Russia has already had to hire mercenaries and use ancient tanks. While Ukraine has been using up its ammunition too, they are finally beginning to get the infusion of Western weapons while Russia's going to have to rely more on its old, outdated equipment. General Ben Hodges, former commander of US forces in Europe, says that in the coming months Ukraine will have enough Western weapons to reverse the tide. "I remain very optimistic that Ukraine is going to win, and that by the end of this year Russia will be driven back to the Feb. 24 line." 


Ukraine has received and put into action French howitzers. This week they received the first set of heavy weapons promised by Germany. The US HIMARS systems (???) have been delivered. 


Germany and the Netherlands will donate 12 Panzerhaubitze howitzers. 


The New York Times has an article that says there is "a stealthy network of commandos and spies rushing to provide weapons, intelligence and training."  C.I.A. personnel have continued to operate in the country secretly. "At the same time, a few dozen commandos from other NATO countries, including Britain, France, Canada and Lithuania, also have been working inside Ukraine. The United States withdrew its own 150 military instructors before the war began in February, but commandos from these allies either remained or have gone in and out of the country since then." Army Green Berets in Germany recently started medical training for Ukrainian troops.


Stronger together. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.