stellarossa

By stellarossa

Locked in

I seem not to have noticed the scattering of padlocks attached to the bridge over our little lake and the railway lines despite walking there every day. These are engraved and carefully locked to the rusting bridge. I like this bridge - particularly because it takes me where I need to go, but also for its simplicity and lack of pretentious in the city of dreaming spires. However, beautiful it is not, a strange choice to attract love tokens.

My search for reliable dog care continues. The student I found has proved less than reliable, although very pleasant. I met a woman from a neighbouring village a few times on my walks and tonight we did a walk together during which we agreed that she will walk Juno once a week and if that goes well she and her family might have her for short periods if I am away. They have an 11 year old son which I think Juno will love - someone to play with. During the walk she found a rat’s nest and emerged trembling with what looked like a pink slug held gently in her mouth. It was a newborn rat and while she didn’t damage it, I don’t think it will survive the shock, although we did place it gently back in the nest. She looked relieved as we took it away and was shaking afterwards. It’s the first time she has ‘got’ another living creature and while instincts must have driven her to pick it up, I don’t think she enjoyed the experience.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.