Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Pals!

Today we had arranged to meet Christine and Dougal. The time was right for the dogs to meet, and hopefully, get on. It was all carefully planned, as we did with Pip, so Archie and I went up to the graveyard first (he was off the lead) and Dougal arrived. ‘On-lead’ behaviour can be more aggressive. I needed really good treats that he would be really interested in, and though I did bring some special ones, on the way past the grocer’s - there were fresh PEAS! So we got a big bag. Archie goes crazy for them. So do I.

As we sat on the bench, awaiting the others, we munched on the divine little things. Then there was a shower of rain. My brown paper bag got wet and soggy and completely useless - my peas scattered on the ground. I had the bright idea of popping them all in my hood (I had my raincoat on). This was a good idea, as it freed my hands for poo bags, dog leads etc, but as I bent down to pick up some poo, many pea pods fell out. I bent down to pick them up, and many more fell out! Christine had to pick them up for me. In fact, she had to do this several times. I spilled more when we were back at the grocer’s and Christine was buying some peas. The grocer himself had to bend down and pick them up for me and pop them back, which he did without questioning why I had a bag of peas in my raincoat hood…

The dogs ran around and played in the cemetery - it was so nice to see - Archie only does this with some dogs - and when we got back home, Dougal trotted right in and made himself at home by dragging Archie’s toys out to the back garden. Though Archie did disappear for a while - perhaps he’d had enough.

We were able to sit outside and have a wine and nibbles. We just haven’t been able to meet with Christine for so long, but dogs all sorted now, thank goodness.

Apart from that excitement, I culled several books of old photos, then we went to the lawyer for some legal stuff, a brief signing. All set now for all eventualities…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.