Golden tickseed…Coreopsis tinctoria

This is not a plant I am familiar with and I had to identify it with the ‘PictureThis’ app. This morning I went to see the flowers of the ‘ Superbloom’ at Hampton Court and this is now the most prominent flower. It is apparently drought tolerant and likes to grow in full sun so is still doing well. It had quite a few bees on it too. As it’s Latin name implies it can apparently be used to create red dyes. Also it was sometimes used in North America to make a medicinal beverage.  See extra for the overall state of the flowers at Hampton Court. 
I was going to go to the Tower of London again on Tuesday to see the Superbloom there again but…having received a TFL email this morning saying do not travel on Monday/ Tuesday unless essential I am postponing that trip! The email implied trains may not run, may have electrical problems etc. I do not want to get stuck in London!

Going through Bushy Park there was no sign of any deer, presumably they are hiding in the bracken which is about six feet tall in places. Also less people than usual doing the 5K run. I think a lot of people have gone away as some residential streets seem to have less parked cars.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.