Taking a break

Today was a slow motion day. I slept for about 11 hours last night and was able to get up fairly early this morning. I wandered about and looked at everything. It's amazing how much changes in 12 days during the summer. I've taken note of what little jobs I need to attend to like thinning the carrots and staking up the asparagus not to mention weeding everything. I got some watering done in preparation for the *hopefully*  evening rain storm.
I was walking by my alliums and noticed a fair number of butterflies and and smaller pollinators all over them and the buckwheat. This monarch stood out, of course. He was taking a nice break and waited for me to take his picture. I do know it is male. They have small black spots on their wings. I can see them on the ones where his wings are spread out. And since a couple of my blip friends had been talking about butterflies, I thought this would be my main blip.
The extra is one of my perennial gardens which is coming right a long. There are coreopsis, rose campion, day lilies, verbascum, rudbeckia and lupine that has gone to seed. The echinacea hasn't started to bloom but is getting ready..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.