Apples and Oranges

By Anitsirk

Had a good day in The Garden.
First the bus didn't arrive so I had time to do a small chore and look in on my very dramatic, still complaining, cucumbers... Three of them have got a bit happier but two are still very winy. :D
At work a coworker and I spent a lot of time in the greenhouse, trimming down basil and cutting them down to take inside and dry them It's a special kind called 'Holy basil' and apparently it's really good in tea. But... they were covered in lice... different sizes, different colours, slow ones, fast ones... Never seen so many different types in one go! And, as you remember, I did work in a large Greenhouse before so I'm no stranger to lice, but this was something else... So, we had to shake them off the basil plants, cutting away only the best parts (of the basil...) and trying not to get all the lice in with us. I had lice on my arm and even one on my cap! When I came home I hung my pants directly in the bathroom, if by chance lice had followed me home...
When we started in the greenhouse, our supervisor was with us just to let us know what needed to be done. I spotted a little frog in a corner, that had crawled in under one of the rased beds where there was a small hole. I thought it was dry looking for moist, so I took my water bottle and poured some water on it. Oh, it loved that! Stretched itself on the water just enjoying it. Such a sweet little one. After a while it hopped away to the door and just sat there. I gave it some more water and helped it to get up on the 'threshold' out from the greenhouse. There's quite the gap for a small one, so I help it up in my hand and down to the other side. I didn't know frogs had such a smooth belly. It hopped away and I so hope it'll find somewhere nice and cool.

On my way home I got off the bus at our local supermarket and went to pick up a gift... a box of 6 ice creams, a real treat when salary is a day away! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.