Lots of yellow flowers

Today I visited the RHS gardens at Wisley. I’ve not been for a couple of months so it was nice to see how the Hilltop Garden has developed this summer. Lots of yellow flowers including sunflowers, a very nice view as we were having coffee. ( but the queues for coffee have not improved)
The vegetables are looking very good as usual including some amazing large squashes,  but I did note one of the RHS workers watering with a hosepipe the whole time we were there. I guess they have to do that to show off all the varieties to the many visitors but not necessarily a good example to the rest of us who are being urged to restrict watering !  Southern Water have already imposed a hosepipe ban and Thames Water are thinking of doing so very soon.

We also sat in on an interesting short talk about the alder tree, we learnt a lot. There are short talks every Saturday in the Hilltop centre about trees.

I was surprised how many visitors were at Wisley before 10am there were even car park attendants directing traffic. I don’t usually go at the weekend. However once in the garden it was not too busy .

The M25 looked very busy and queues to get on it from the A3 so I’m glad we are not travelling far this weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.