One click at a time

By KeithKnight

Before it went wrong

Travelling back down south today, passing through Chesterfield I tried to get a shot of  the famous wonky spire.

That was when the first train was just a few minutes late. Once I arrived at Nottingham I got onto the next train, after it was due to have left it was announced that there was a fault on the train and it was cancelled.

The next one was running later and later, eventually 30 minutes late, and expected to carry 2 trains worth of passengers. When it arrived I took a look and not fancying standing in the heat I decided to get the train that followed that, which was due 10 minutes later. Both would arrive at the changing point for the final train before the same one left.

That next train was slightly late leaving, but got later and later as it proceeded. On arrival at Kettering the final train should have left, but was sat in the platform, I stopped rushing to get it when it became apparent that there was a lot of people on the platform. That one had failed as well. So a half hour wait for the next one.

In all 90 minutes late getting home, another Delay Repay claim to add to the others that East Midland Railways have failed to cough up. (outstanding refunds/DR payments now close to £130, would have been over £200 if I wasn't using my old codgers railcard.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.