Dormition of the Mother of God

Today we went down to Scaravaios for our morning swim, only to find a chain across the road that leads to the beach bar. We wondered whether this was due to an event there last night, as yesterday was the Dormition of Mary, which I'd never heard of before but appears to be a big deal in these parts.

Actually, I've really enjoyed the little religious paintings in the tourist shops that depict Mary and Jesus, either separately or together. In fact, there have been one or two that I've been tempted to buy*.

Anyway, with the beach bar closed, the Minx and I found a little spot further east along the beach and set up camp, as you can see in the photo.


*To be clear, I am not really religious: https://fennerpearson.wordpress.com/2012/01/21/i-can-still-be-a-sunbeam/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.