Take a Walk With Me

We woke up to another beautiful day, not like typical hot, humid August. After breakfast, we decided to hike one of the forest trails. It was just about 2.7 miles round trip and follows the perimeter of the campground. Hubby bought me a comfy pair of Keen hiking boots and today was their maiden trek. I’ve shared a few of the treats we found along the way. The Callosamia silk moth was napping in the middle of the road when we came out of the forest. He simply would not open his wings. I was quite excited to see the indigo milk cap, white coral fungus, Thelephora vialis, and woolgrass. All of these were new species for me. There were two fishermen in the Swift Creek when we got to the clearing. Hubby remarked I was missing stuff by only looking on the ground so I got a shot of the blue sky and clouds peeking through the canopy of very tall trees. There were only very few wildflowers still in bloom but the fungi made up for them. The photos I took were mostly of tiny blossoms and they were not blip worthy. Thank goodness my trekking poles are now on our camping check list. Using one was a life saver with these old knees. I rested after lunch while hubby rode our e-bike on the trail we just hiked. There were too many steep hills for me to attempt a ride. Hubby forgot his helmet and says his guardian angel saved him from hitting a tree head on. Guess I’d better check him before he heads out next time. “You need special shoes for hiking - and a bit of a special soul as well." -TERRI GUILLEMETS

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.