Its the Way It Is

By Jeano

First Confession

by Frank O’Connor

From his collection My Oedipus Complex (my edition is 2005)


Today was my audition for the Acting Course in BIFE.IE

So I was all prepared, Frank O’Connor is a good bet; I picked a descriptive passage, low key interfamilia drama (oh the best/worst kind).. practised umpteen times … the dramatic pauses, intonation etc

I am called into the theatre hub classroom, introduced to the tutor (who is a Cork man) so a good omen and he asks me to read.

It went ok - I stumbled a bit - but not noticeably and was happy enough. I finished and I smiled.

OK Jean - please put the book away and show me your improvisation skills.

Em - the wha’

I want you to act the part of the 12 year old boy in relation to his grandmother.

So I stood up and lashed out at my grandmother who drank porter, smoked a clay pipe and walked around in her bare feet.

Omg I hated that grandmother for embarrassing me in front of my sophisticated 12 year old friends

OK Jean - that’s quite good. Now let’s go further … please improvise the part of the grandmother

Well - What I didn’t say about my daughter-in-law and how she cooked the spuds, her cheeky son and the price of baccy for me clay pipe. You should have heard me!

I think the tutor who auditioned me was a bit shocked

I had a great time.

***

Ok Jean do you have any acting experience

Well I did the film making course last year and acted in 5 of my fellow students films. (the pinnacle of which was fighting off a zombie apocalypse with my Zimmer frame and crutches) and in our lunch breaks they made TikTok’s and asked me to be in them as the older woman (don’t ask).

I see - he said. Anything else? Eh, that’s it

And I smiled my winning smile.

Thank you Jean. We will be in touch

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.