It's A Minute To Midnight

By Draco

Unicorn? or Hummingbird Hawk-Moth

I have ALWAYS wanted to see one and this evening was my time and I felt like Id seen a Unicorn! 
I was wondering the weeds in my garden set up for ultra macro when this thing came hurtling towards me and I just knew it was a Hummingbird Hawk-Moth. But my heart sank knowing I had completely the wrong kit on. I tried anyway while it was flitting from flower to flower.
After my crappy attempt I ran upstairs and got the other camera with my 200mm lens and then swapped the bare flash onto the D850 so I knew the lighting would be harsh.
After waiting,.... a no show from the Moth I swapped back to Z7ii and took flash off the 200mm. Then I heard the Hum behind me and would you believe it was back so I chucked the raynox off whipped off the diffuser and tried to manually focus in the near dark. Not too bad for the quickest shot I've ever tried.

Draco

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.