Original 1953 Coronation Crown

A strange day of reminiscing following the death of the Queen yesterday. We all have memories of events over the many years of the Queen’s reign, the first that I have is that of watching the Coronation on a tiny TV in 1953. The first time that I had ever seen a TV, it wasn’t ours, and with the good eyesight of youth I was able to see the tiny figures. 

We didn’t have all the media sources that are available these days and I’m not sure if there are any of my childhood books in the attic. But I do have this Coronation Crown which I was given at the time of the Coronation. I think that all schoolchildren were given one, but I don’t remember how we received it. I do remember having a Coronation mug which got cracked when travelling on the school bus some time later.

Life goes on in parallel to national events and today my car went in for its MOT. I had a call to say that there were problems that needed resolving before it would pass. The ok was given, the repairs done and the bill paid. A driver returned it to home. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.