Monday: The Belize River

As Belize is a realm country today was also a day of national mourning here.  We didn’t manage to see the actual funeral, due to the time difference, but saw some of the later parts, such as the journey to Windsor and the procession into St George’s Chapel.  I found parts of it quite emotional.

As it finished early our time we took a short drive afterwards to Guanacaste National Park, a 10 minute drive from the house, and took a walk down to the Belize River.  The intense heat and humidity is something we are going to have to get used to.  I think we just need to accept that the next few years will be spent in a state of varying degrees of dampness.

My driver, Humberto, picked me up at 4pm as I was heading to a reception in Belize City in honour of Independence Day.  It was a little nerve-wracking going in and knowing no-one but I just reminded myself that I’ve been in the same boat previously and it’s always worked out ok.  And I did meet some interesting people and possible contacts.  It was outside, and felt very exotic with the warm Caribbean breeze, smell of the sea air, and palm trees.

It’s too dangerous to drive back to Belmopan at night so any evening events will mean staying over.  My hotel is very curiously colonial/vintage - I’m sure I’ll be staying here many more times so that’s a blip for a future occasion.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.