Three B’s

When I was contemplating my retirement I made a list of some of the places that I wanted to visit. It kept me going through the dark times of the last few months of working. Bletchley Park was on the list, as I’m fascinated by WW11 and any connection to it. I also saw the Imitation Game several years ago although understanding the code and cipher breaking was complicated. The museum is fascinating and so well laid out, housed in the wartime ‘huts’ . I learned more about code breaking and the attention to detail capturing messages and recording minute pieces of information. At one time 7000 people were employed and this memo about ‘second helpings’ made me smile. Fascinating visit over four hours! On to the next B a few miles up the road - Biscester. We only stayed long enough to buy some over priced boxers shorts - first Christmas present. Both hugely frustrated to see all the shoppers were overseas visitors (probably the only people who can afford overpriced designer clothes). Another twenty minute drive to our third B - Blenheim, although strictly speaking Woodstock where earlier frustration paled into insignificance when we saw that the beautiful Woodstock high street was hosting a two day fun fair!!!!! Noise and smells and flashing lights outside our bedroom window. Apparently the locals hate it and I can understand why.
It is a beautiful high street with honey coloured buildings covered in a virgina creeper. The houses are old and tell of secret history to have a noisy fun fair in the middle of it all doesn’t make sense. Anyway moan over - off to Blenheim tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.