My mom shoots

3years 195days

Quite an appropriate top for today for Katie. Her new "My Mom Shoots People" tshirt. 'Mom' had an afternoon of sessions. Before that, we went to her swimming class. She did some really good swimming and did some good work on her front crawl arms. We got a bit soggy in the rain before we went for brunch and a little wander. She walked almost the whole way home too today, jumping in the puddles as we went. By the time we were home it was as though the rain never happened!

She spent a very happy afternoon with her friend Lydia and family. The girls played in the garden most of the time. They had an Easter Egg hunt- which is actually what Katie did the last time she was there, on Easter Sunday! She is very taken with the farm animal masks that come as part of the set they had.

When I picked her up, I had brought our gorgeous new bike with us because our bike seat was on Lydia's mum's bike. Her dad kindly fitted it for me and an excited Katie was delighted to be on it again for the first time in a few weeks. She insisted on a play in the garden, but as the zoned look in her face suggests, despite it only being 6pm she was beginning to flag!

This image makes me smile. I read online recently a comment about lens flare, and furthermore the trend for adding lens flare post-production. Someone commented "I'm too old school: lens flare used to mean you'd messed up and forgotten your lens hood". Everytime I look at a bit of genuine lens lens flare happening in the camera, and seek it out thinking how much I love it, I can hear my photographic mentor telling me off. I can hear him, almost sense him, stood beside me directing me to put my hand above and forward of my lens to protect from it. And here I am deliberately ignoring - and loving - it !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.