no place like

home.

I'd thought that my sleep on the train was fitful - the woman across the aisle fidgeted a lot and I remember us stopping at Carlisle and then the rear carriages of the train splitting off to go to Edinburgh. But when I woke up, nearly everyone had left the train except for me and the man in the seat behind me, who was still fast asleep. I thought I'd better wake him up, and had to shoogle his shoulder quite assertively to rouse him; he is obviously skilled in sleeping through disturbances :-)

It was still dark in Glasgow at 7.30 so I went for a coffee and then walked up to the bus station as a rather driech day dawned. Caught the bus to Dumfries and my car was still there behind the station, where I'd left it.

D and Jess were glad to see me - we had a group hug and I sat down for a cup of tea and a catch up on the week's happenings before going outside. There was a week's worth of split logs to stack in the woodshed and a blocked drainage channel down the drive to sort out before I walked to Routin Brig to admire the waterfall in glorious spate. The leaves on the trees are showing more autumn colours than they were Down South, especially this lovely Acer.

I cooked the good old Lime Pickle Rice recipe for tea - a great standby when the cupboard is a bit bare.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.