Monday: Tony

Tonight was one of those evenings that grew exponentially.  K. and I went for a drink with my colleague, Tony.   Tony them texted his partner, Dijana, who also works for us, who came with her boss, Phil.  Dijana then texted the driver, Sasa, who was waiting for Phil, so all in all it ended up being a very sociable evening.

This is my colleague, Tony, by this stage he was getting a bit tutty with me whisking my camera out.  Tony was born in Johannesburg and came to Croatia, where his parents came from, when he was 19.  It was a complex issue to do with length and location of South African national service vs. length and location of Yugoslav national service.  No one could have foreseen the Balkans war.

Deep down, I think he still feels South African.  He listens to South African radio, reads South African books and follows South African sport.

I don't know why this makes me feel a bit melancholy for him.  Or, as my godson would say, lemoncholy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.