pipflash1

By pipnat51

Coffin carrier

I really do hope that you don't find today's blip overly morbid as that isn't my intention at all. When I found it I thought it was quite fascinating and a return to days gone by.

The blip is of a coffin carrier which is located in St.Mary's church in Halford, Warwickshire, just off the Fosse Way. It was hand drawn and it continued to be used well into the 20th century. 

Today is All Saint's Day and tomorrow is All Soul's Day when we should remember with love and prayer all those family and friends that we have lost. Sobering to know that at some point we will all make that final journey.

Parish churches can be so interesting and I have visited a lot of them in South Warwickshire. It can be challenging when taking photos as there isn't a lot of light in most of them so a tripod is usually called for. 

St.Mary's is just up the road from here and it's walkable as long as you keep your camera bag light. A little further on is St. Gregory's in Tredington where the main door has buckshot embedded in it which was shot from a Parliamentarian musket during the English Civil War. Many more such interesting churches within a stones throw from here.

I gave my old Olympus camera a run out today, it still works!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.