Run Like Hell

I think I would be tempted to run away as quickly as possible if a giant kangaroo suddenly appeared behind me! Last nights entertainment was The Australian Pink Floyd at Venue Cymru in Llandudno. Two and a half hours of the best of Pink Floyd played superbly with great lights and visuals as well. And with just a little hint of Aussie humour thrown in now and again.
When I first saw the Aussie Floyd they were playing the Malt Room at Kendal’s Brewery Arts Centre. Whilst the musicianship was as good then as it is now, the lighting and effects were considerably more low key. If I recall correctly, the climax of Comfortably Numb was a roadie shining a torch at a small glitter ball sat on top of one of the amps! Over the years, the stage show has developed into a quite a spectacle, with a large circular screen flanked by multiple lights and lasers. I believe the set even incorporates some genuine ex-Floyd touring gear and props these days. The two HGVs and three coaches parked behind the venue also testify to the scale of the operation now. I think there was just an old, long wheelbase Transit in the car park, back in the Kendal days!
I’ve seen them fairly regularly over the years, though this is the first time since the pandemic. In fact, FB reminded me that it was exactly three years ago - 17th November 2019 - that I last saw them. But I won’t leave it as long until the next time. Their 2023 tour will be commemorating the fiftieth anniversary of Dark Side of the Moon, and they will be playing that album in its entirety, along with all the usual hits. No U.K. dates listed yet, but I suspect it’ll be around this time of year. Not going to miss the chance to hear my favourite album played live.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.