Run To The Hills

It’s the Kendal Mountain Festival this weekend, and today was the 10K Trail Race. I can run a 10K, but only if it’s on flat, quiet roads, so there was never going to be any chance of me entering this particular event. However, the route pretty much went past the end of our road, so it was no effort to walk a couple of hundred yards to watch the runners going past on their way to Scout Scar. This lot were in one of the leading bunches, and were making light work of it, considering they were basically halfway up a steep hill out of the town centre - a hill I sometimes struggle to walk up, never mind run up! Some of the runners at the back of the race were definitely blowing as they went past - not a good sign when they still had 9K to go. At least the last couple of kilometres would be all downhill!
Feeling slightly inspired by all the physical exertion I’d witnessed, I did then go to the gym for a bit of a workout, though any good that did me was rather offset by an afternoon just watching telly. Have to try harder tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.