Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Krakow Day Three

Our day for the famous Salt Mines. We had splashed out and got a private car from the hotel, which was nice. Especially coming home - I was truly stuffed. Although we only did about 6,000 steps down the mine, it was hard going. The leader set off at a brisk whack, and started explaining things even before the stragglers (me, and a few others) arrived at the stop. My photos don’t do it justice, so check out the website.

It is a truly amazing construction, and I’m glad we’ve seen it now - I’ve been hearing about it for years from various people. Spot JR in the cathedral chamber.

We were dropped back at the hotel, and I went down for a splash about in the pool, the pounding surf helps my sore bones. I also managed 5 whole minutes in the sauna. JR doesn’t own any togs, and actually went shopping for some yesterday, in vain. She hasn’t owned togs for many years, as she doesn’t swim, but she was keen to try this pool. So she borrowed my togs, which are stretched to the max on me, but fitted her perfectly. 

Then we went to the lovely wee bar down in the basement. JR ordered a cocktail, thinking the barman would shake it and fuss around, and serve it in a nice glass… but a Yuzukaze is gin based, loads of ice, little red nuts on top, and was served… in a coconut shell with a glass straw! I was more sensible and had a local beer, a Tyskie. Served in a bottle, with a glass. 

Actually, I wasn’t that sensible... I had two.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.