Empathy

Or lack of, a long time ago at an annual reporting session, when the Navy was just getting into emotional support or whatever it was called I was told that I lacked empathy. I’m not certain that it’s true, it depends on who and circumstances, plus it could be that I spend too much time talking to Paddy when we are out walking, he us after all the perfect sounding board.
So to today, I thoroughly enjoyed my visit to Richard and Jackie, for over three years they have stuck to their isolating routine, it started pre pandemic. Of late I haven’t seen much of Jackie, her illness makes that difficult but I enjoy Richards company immensely, couple of cups of strong filter coffee, a pasty and a tot of rum spread over two or more hours of friendly chat and banter.
The evening was was spent at the Epic Curry Night held at Asha, the local Indian restaurant. Pre meal beers in the Moth & Moon where initially I had a table in the small side room but I moved into the bar to join the others.

I thoroughly enjoyed the meal and the company but I felt kind of detached about the whole evening. Not a work ‘do’, not a meal out with friends as such we have the gig rowing in common and being Veterans but our experiences span different times in different services. Veterans are always good company but I walked up the hill home looking forward to a coffee and a good nights sleep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.