lunch

When I left the house this morning a little before 8am, it was just getting light and my car thermometer showed -9.5 degrees. Sunrise revealed a magical wintry landscape, the bare branches of trees thick with frost against a bright blue sky. 

It was a shame that I had to spend most of the day indoors, but I really enjoy working in the cafe just now, when we have so many customers coming in for their Christmas lunches. We have two sittings, at 12 and 2, and as many as 15 people at one table, so it's a challenge to get all the food out as quickly as possible. There's also an ordinary lunch menu being served at the same time, so the kitchen staff are busy - and it was pretty chilly in the kitchen as it gets ventilated with air from outside! I was on laundry duty in the morning, ironing all the aprons and jackets, which was possibly the best job in the whole cafe, as the room was like a sauna. 

After work and the weekly shop, I went for a proper sauna and steam before heading home, where the fire was on and D was making the tea :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.