Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Stressed!

Archie had a bit of a disturbed night - he was wandering around most of the night, scratching at the front door at one point. JR got up about 3am to give him one of his pills, but he happened to be sitting in his bed, so she didn’t. He’s been quite sleepy all day…

JR went off to the gym, and Archie and I walked round to out local pub to book a table for next week. He was reluctant to go in, and scrabbled like a mad thing to get out when I’d finished. No, he won’t be coming with us, I assured him.

It was a gorgeous day, but I have spent most of it, after the morning walk, inside, ringing around making enquiries about travel insurance. What a time-consuming exercise, because they have to do it all verbally (or at least they do for old biddies with a colourful health history). And whether you mention something or not - the rule is in the wording: ‘Have you EVER…’ or ‘Have you, within the last two (or five) years…’

I was getting more and more stressed. Then I forgot who I’d spoken to and who I’d said what to. For instance, I’d forgotten that I had a PE (Pulmonary Embolism) many years ago, and this is an ‘ever…’ question. The woman I was talking to said she’d had a PE during her pregnancy, and even when she’s 80, she’ll have to declare that in any travel insurance. I’m just a wee bit unsure that I’ve got all my varied ailments listed. Some just need to be noted, but don’t cost any more. And some add £100’s… but if they’re NOT noted, and something happens - anything- your insurance is worthless.

One company, having spent at least half an hour going through everything, got to the ‘heart attack’ bit and just said, ‘Oh no, we don’t insure if there’s been a heart attack…’

Anyway, eventually got it all organised for the whole of next year. And we have to just lump it - we’re old, and next year‘s rather lavish holidays will not be repeated.

JR and Archie walked round to Waitrose to drop off the swimsuits, which weren’t to her liking, while I awaited yet another travel insurance company to ring me back, and to tell him I was going with someone else. I felt bad.

Hope Archie sleeps ALL night…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.