I'm Loving Snow Angels Instead

...okay so she might actually be a fairy but I like to take her portrait every year and if you can't paraphrase a line from a Robbie Williams song in this instance when can you? :-)
She's sat on top of our Christmas tree for as long as I can remember and whilst she may be a little dishevelled now, she must be on to her third skirt and her wings are held on with sticky tape, Christmas would not be the same without her. The main shot of her is in our back garden with a hastily drawn snow heart around her and the extra is my rather poor effort at trying to give her a bit of nighttime glamour with a set of yuletide lights - it's lopsided, I've used the wrong exposure and I've managed to leave two large footprints in the snow which I didn't see until I looked at the image later, but I though I'd include it anyway! I can only offer her my most humblest of apologies.
Today was both a quiet day and a busy one at the same time if that makes any sense. It involved more Crimbo food shopping, some creative freezer management (we only have a small freezer but if you decant packaged items into freezer bags it fits in the nooks and crannies - there's a tip you didn't know you needed!), standing in a long queue at a coffee shop only to realise that one just around the corner from home was much quieter, making pastry for my first batch of homemade mince pies and completing a photo book with my brother before managing to settle down later with a couple of glasses of wine and some good telly.
So of course this means I have another TV recommendation for you - "The Secret Genius of Modern Life" (you can find it on BBC iPlayer). It's presented by Professor Hannah Fry, a mathematician, and is a series revealing the miraculous technologies that define the modern world.
Seemingly ordinary inventions like the bank card, food delivery app, virtual assistant, electric car, fitness tracker and the trainer have fascinating stories to tell about their origins, proliferation and their role in shaping the world as it is today. It celebrates the convenience these objects bring to our lives but not with an uncritical eye as it also examines their less savoury real world impacts - asking whether this technology can come without a cost to society.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.