Solid Gold Easy Action

When I bought the new bass, the intonation was a bit off, so I left it with the shop to be set up. When I got it back, the intonation was better, but the action (the height of the strings above the fretboard) was way out. I like the strings to be as close as possible to the frets without buzzing (low action) but you could have driven a bus under the E string, it was set so high!
With the shop now closed for Christmas and a gig on Boxing night scheduled, there was nothing for it but to have a go myself, so it was out with the toolkit and a search on YouTube for some instructional videos. I found a really good series that covered the whole process from adjusting the truss rod, through setting the saddle heights and then finally checking the intonation. Clear, easy to understand instructions and it was not long before I had everything how I like it.
Sounded - and felt - pretty good unplugged, but I guess the proof of the pudding will be when the opening riff of “Cocaine” powers out on Monday night…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.