Grey Heron

A little bit of drama at the loch today! The young one was waiting for me on the grass. I started feeding her then she stopped and turned. I looked over and the older female was walking towards me. I gave her a piece of fish and at that the young one chased her. She chased her up to the far end of the loch and back I heard her call as she flew overhead, out of the park and over the roofs of flats in the distance. I wasn't sure if she'd be back but knew she'd be a while so I made my way to the male. I started feeding him and turned to see the two youngest heron standing at the side of the footpath looking over. I started feeding them as well as the male. I made sure I kept some back in case the young one had returned, which was just as well as she was standing on grass near the foot of the  loch waiting for me. She got what was left and I made for home feeding the crows as I went. 
The extra is the 2 youngest ones who I suspect are siblings.    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.