Grey Heron

As I was down to 2 heron and it was milder yesterday I took slightly less fish this morning. However when I got outside It was a lot colder.  When I got to the loch the young one met me on the grass and I started to feed her. She suddenly took off and flew over to the side of the dovecote. As I followed her over I noticed a heron on top of the dovecote. I fully expected the young one to start chasing the one on the dovecote but she stood there and continued feeding. When I was finished she took off back to the loch. The heron on the dovecote flew down and as it was an adult I assumed it was the male. Strangely it came walking over to me and I noticed it was a female and by the way it was behaving (and the way the young one accepted  it) it had to be the long lost older female. I gave it some more fish then headed off to the male. He was at his usual spot so I started feeding him. The older  female landed on the footpath next to me so I fed them both what fish I had. Then made for home. The crows all got biscuits!
The extra is the older female.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.