Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Heard the fireworks last night as I dozed off. Christine sent a video - she had a sheltered vantage point, I think it was rather wet. But organisers are happy if there isn’t a strong wind.

JR went off to the gym, which wasn’t closed along with most other things on January 1st. No - there was a big triathlon going on and she knew a few folk doing it. Started with a swim in the Commie pool, then round Arthur’s Seat (many times). She and Krissy went into the park to cheer them on, and in doing so walked miles! (22, 976 steps!)

I wore my new shoes round the house all morning while I did a few chores, and I’ve decided - I’m not keeping either of them. Too many times I’ve bought shoes, and then realised they’re just not comfortable. I’ll give my old shoes a very good polish and keep ‘em for another winter. 

Archie and I went out for a walk, and I decided to do a pretty long one, as befits my (not) New Year Resolution of being more active. We walked across the Meadows and on down to the Grassmarket, up the Vennel Steps and back over the Meadows. Haven’t been that far for ages. (6,786 steps)

RANT: I don’t know anyone who chews gum, and have never ever seen anyone chucking chewing gum down on the pavement, so how come every pavement is dotted with millions of pieces of gum? If a new pavement is laid with lovely new clean slabs, within a week, they are covered in gum. WHY? HOW? WHEN?

You won’t see any gum, fag ends, beer cans or litter in this photo, because I picked them all up (digitally). (Check out the offending photo in Extras). 

I had to wait for ages for this shot, when Archie looked away, because I didn’t want him to look at me - his beard was disgustingly filthy. But being a good boy, he always looks at the camera. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.