The Junior Week

What a great present Ella (10) and Nathaniel (9) got from their Auntie Cath - a subscription to the junior version of The Week newspaper. They were engrossed for over an hour. There were short pieces explaining what was going on in different countries, with an arrow showing where they were on a world map. An article about Russian history gave insight into the war in Ukrainian. Of course there’s a sport section which Nathaniel read first. At least it’s more age appropriate compared with the Guardian which they both read bits of when staying. I tend to sidestep some of their questions and tell them their mum will explain better.

I have mended my old rucksack which was beginning to fall apart and is held together with safety pins. I use it for hand luggage. I have remembered to pack a couple of changes of clothing in case the big bag goes missing in Charles de Gaulle. I think I’m done but there’s bound to be something. We have a taxi booked for 4.15am tomorrow from Gosforth as we leave the car for #3 daughter.

It’s been a challenge to work out what to do with the remains in the fridge. I made soup with spring onions, a carrot and a parsnip with ginger and coriander. It was really tasty. We’ll take some egg mayo in rolls with us. Tonight it’ll be cheese and the remains of the cranberry and clementine relish.

The rain has stopped so I’d better get out for a walk and leave Mr C to his pottering and packing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.