Feeling the Chill

This is David Livingstone feeling the cold of -7° today in East Princes Street Gardens. He wasn’t the only one cold as stone and despite the forecast I didn’t see any effort on the parts of the Council or Quartermile to grit the paths or pavements for the rush hour between 8am-9am. 
Even Princes Street had its icy bits where it had been wet and that combined with the hundreds of skewed paving slabs invited  unwelcome visits to A&E. Not many people were attempting the piste of the Mound. Me? I took the bus to meet my school friend in town where at one point we had the Ivy on the Square all to ourselves- absolute bliss.

Even with the sun out in all its glory melting the frost and ice where it reached, I came home by bus. I am becoming paranoid about falling and breaking a hip or another limb. There was no such danger as I did a spot of housework in preparation for my hosting  the Book Group on Wednesday. With the sun shining directly into the south facing rooms there is no hiding the dust and clutter from prying eyes. The cake will be made tomorrow before LeeAnne and I go to the Panto ……..oh yes  we are,….just  kids at heart.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.