Beauty is all around us.

By Grace55

My new aran poncho.

The Feast Day of St. Anthony Abbot.
We have woken up to very frosty roofs and cars.
It is minus 4c here in dazzlingly sunny Rishton.
The bird's water tub was a solid block, so I put out fresh hot water and pieces of Hovis bread, alongside the fat squares. I pity the postman and any outdoor workers. I walked to the corner shop for our Daily Mail and had a chat with Jenny who told me where the slippery bits were on Eachill Road.
I photographed myself wearing my lovely aran poncho. It was delivered by DHL yesterday and is perfect for this cold weather. The garments are hand knitted and can take 60 days to complete. They sent a booklet explaining the symbolism of the Aran pattern.
The Cable stitch is a depiction of the fisherman's rope and like a prayer wish for a fruitful day at sea.
The Diamond stitch reflects the small fields of the islands. It stands for success and wealth.
Moss stitch symbolises seaweed which is used to fertilise the barren fields and produce a good harvest.
The Zig Zag stitch symbolises twisting cliff paths on the Aran islands.
The Tree of Life is one of the original stitches and it reflects the importance of the clan, clan unity, long- lived parents and strong children.
I hope you find this interesting. I love symbolism as it tells a wonderful cultural story.
Have a lovely Tuesday and keep safe and warm blip friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.