Deeside and beyond

A trip up north today. I realised it is the first time since pre-Covid that I have driven any distance in daylight other than on motorways or primary A roads. And it was lovely.

I left Edinburgh in sunshine and crisp blue skies. The scenery shone. Until just after Dundee when the clouds rolled in a bit. It was only from that point that I was able to stop and take photos.

I took the Edzell, Fettercairn, Cairn o’ Mount, Clatt route to Portsoy. I was struck by how many trees had been blown over with the past gales.

I managed a stop at Potarch overlooking the River Dee along from Banchory and Braemar. The bridge was built by Thomas Telford nearly 210 years ago and the skies cleared enough for the main photo.

The other photos are of a tank in the middle of the countryside; the 17th century harbour at Portsoy where I am staying with friends. (Apparently this was used as a location for scenes in Peaky Blinders); and some trays used by my friends when sorting out jigsaw bits for jigsaws, some up to 2,000 pieces!

My friends, me of whom I was at school with, have lived for years elsewhere, many in Shetland, and despite keeping in touch we have not managed to meet up for, I think, over 40 years. The years slipped away and we passed a very enjoyable evening, including a lovely Indian meal in Banff.

A long but enjoyable day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.