Squirrelling And Crowing

I had what felt like a busy day today. It was still very grey and cold but I forced myself to get out for another early run after spending most of the last two days indoors.
I managed to also fit in some further exercise, doing some dinner prep, getting through some of my magazine backlog, reading a few chapters of my book (I'm currently engrossed in a thriller called 1979 by Val McDermid) and watching the first episode of a documentary series.
The documentary is called "Fight The Power: How Hip Hop Changed The World" (you can find it on the BBC iPlayer). It's about how this music broke new ground and emerged from underground New York into a global force for change and empowerment - as told by icons of the scene such as Chuck D, Ice-T and Run DMC. It really gives you a sense of time and place and the social conditions (the extent of the failures, venality, discrimination and racism of the police and local and national politicians is truly jaw dropping) that led to its creation plus all that incredible sound and music. 
By the middle of the afternoon I'd realised I hadn't got an image for blip so headed around the corner to the Royal British Legion Village for some fresh air even though it was even greyer and damper than the start of the day.
The village has a large population (some would say over-population) of squirrels and as I entered the memorial garden I could see one just a few feet in front of me. I've always been too slow to capture one on camera and just as I'd focused on this one he sprinted up the nearest tree before I could get a shot off. Luckily he then stopped to concentrate on an acorn he was munching his was through and I was able to get his portrait.
The extra is of a crow at the top of a nearby tree - with its silhouette standing out against the numbingly grey sky.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.