Groggster

By Groggster

Twisted Flax

I'm a bit gutted today as I somehow contrived to miss posting my first blip in over two years yesterday. The image itself, it must be said, really was scraping the bottom of my creative barrel - it was a shot of a patterned ironing board cover (?!) - but nonetheless I do feel a little bit sad that my run has been broken. :-(
I'm blaming our electricity company - let me explain. We had a power cut last night and we'd just assumed a fuse had blown so I went downstairs to check our circuit breaker but everything was fine. We looked outside and all our neighbours's lights appeared to still be on. It was only when my brother checked his phone using our post code (although I did later get a text from the electricity company confirming it) that it advised of an "unexpected interruption" to our supply and that they were hoping to reconnect the residences affected by 4 am. Luckily the power came back on just before 2 am but I couldn't really get back to sleep and it left me feeling a bit discombobulated.
So when I took today's nocturnal image of these rather strange looking seed heads in our garden I wasn't really concentrating and deleted all of yesterday's images before I'd got around to downloading them. So out there somewhere in the digital ether is an image of an ironing board cover - I'm calling it my ghost blip! :-)
Today's title just randomly popped into my head. One connection relates to the mind-boggling and deliberately difficult quiz show Only Connect (I think I've only ever managed to get a couple of answers right), presented by Victoria Coren Mitchell on BBC2, where two teams compete to find connections between seemingly unrelated clues.
The shows questions will cover any topic, and may require knowledge of both arcane subject areas and popular culture with questions also being self-referential, or based on linguistic or numeric tricks.
In one section of the show the contestants have to chose between questions labelled with Egyptian hieroglyphs - Two Reeds, Lion, Horned Viper, Water, Eye of Horus and Twisted Flax.
One theory is that the twisted flax in ancient Egyptian mythology is supposed to represent two intertwined snakes: Heka, a god who's is the deification of magic and medicine in ancient Egypt, battled and defeated two serpents, and therefore the serpents became a hieroglyphic symbol of his power. 
I can't say these seed heads actually resemble two intertwined serpents but that's just what popped into my rather scrambled brain. I did warn you it was random! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.