bananablip

By bananablip

A day in the mountains

It’s been impossible to choose just four pictures from today, such has been it’s scale of absolute wonder! I honestly don’t think I’ve said ‘wow’ more times in any one day in history.

Ali and I started with a cheeky croissant eaten outdoors in the snow (such was the novelty of both) before heading back to the Boulangerie to get an array of pastries (this time to share). After an absolute feast of a breakfast we headed up to the mountain to hire some snow shoes (Ali and I) and hike up the mountain, ably guided by Roddy on his cross country skies. It was one of the most magical experiences of my life. Not being a skier, I’ve never experienced being up in the mountains in the proper snow and so it was epic at every turn. When we got to the top, the cloud lifted for the first time in the day to reveal the most beautiful snow capped mountains. I felt very, very grateful to have the opportunity to experience something so awe-inspiring.

We met Lucy at the top for a beer after she’d skied down and it was one of the best beers I’ve ever had, served with a trio of excellent company, excellent conversation and excellent views.

We left the skiers to ski down while we hiked and the clouds quickly descended again for a dramatic end to our day on the slopes. Back to the apartment for warming showers then off to Chez Roge (sadly too busy to get in) and the local wine bar.

The day ended as only it should, with an absolute cheese feast in the form of way too much raclette.

A day I’ll remember for a very long time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.