Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

2023 Saturday — Roadtrip

This afternoon, after a long leisurely morning with no construction, we drove to Arroyo Grande to return my newest pair of eyeglasses. I’ve worn them now for 7 days and they just don’t feel good on my face. They are returnable within the first 30 days and that date is next week. Because next week will be busy, this was my opportunity to take care of this issue.

Once I had returned the glasses, we were near Trader Joe’s, so we made a quick dash thru the aisles there to get a few favorite things. We were back in the car when Mr. Fun reminded me that we needed to put a card in the mail to our granddaughter Desiree in San Diego; her birthday is Monday. I had some birthday cards at home and I had meant to prepare one to send her and duh I had forgot.

So Parable Christian Book store is in the same parking lot as Trader Joe’s so I made a quick trip in there and had immediate success in finding a card. Then we hustled to the Arroyo Grande Post Office to put the card in the mail; but, ugh, their last mail drop for the day had happened several hours ago. I had failed again. Then Mr. Fun checked his phone, found on the map the location of the Pismo Beach Post Office and we were then rolling toward a location we had never been to before and hoping they had a later mail drop time. Hooray they did! We had 30 minutes to spare. We were relieved and thrilled. The hope then was that the “pony” could get to San Diego by Monday to deliver our greeting.

When the card had been deposited in the Post Office, we both looked at each other and asked, “What do you want to do now?” And we agreed that home was where we wanted to be. So we aimed toward the U.S. 101 freeway and then the Highway 1 exit to the coast. While doing that I captured this photo of a place that has always looked to me to be part of the famous Madonna Inn. If it is not part of it, then it is adjacent to it on the north.

Within 30-minutes we were back to the house in time to watch the sunset. So we settled-in for a long January evening of warmth and cozy within our little home.

From Cayucos
On California’s Central Coast,
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol
and Chloe & Mitzi too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.