Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

2023 — January’s Final Monday

The final Monday in January presented lots of reasons to celebrate: our granddaughter’s birthday; a gorgeous day; and the USPS delivered!

Thirty-four years ago today we welcomed our second granddaughter, Desiree, into the family; we were delighted then and we still are. She was born 4 1/2 months after our first grandbaby, also a girl. I was a grandmother at 38 years old; soon after my 39th birthday, I was enjoying two sweet baby girls.

So Mr. Fun drove and I took pictures as we wove this day into an adventure while going north to Cambria and then later back to Cayucos to watch the surf and the surfers before heading back to the house.

In Cambria I found a boatload of wonder at my favorite little "Re•Create" thrift store, which is operated by the good people of Vineyard Church. Their store is clean, attractively decorated, well organized, and very affordable. I found a little tablecloth for a side-table for $3.00; a beautiful complete set of queen-sized sheets for 10.00; two of my favorite sized Pyrex clear glass mixing bowls; a 4-cup glass measuring cup; I wasn't charged for the tiny pickle fork; one pair of soft silver-gray socks should have been .50¢, but was tossed-in for free; a dark gray, like new pair of Gloria Vanderbilt jeans for $6.00 (without trying I dropped 18 lbs this past year mostly because I was very sick in August, so most of my GV pants are sloppy loose on me); I got an everyday hat for $10.00 (hats are terrific on bad hair days). Mr. Fun got one music CD by Rich Mullins for $1.00, and a like-new Jack Hayford Study Bible for $4.00 (normally $32.00). Most of these items would have cost so much more brand new. The difference between "brand" new and "like" new is significant. Built into my DNA is the thrill of saving money. We exited "Re•Create" with absolute satisfaction.

And the best part of our day? Learning that the U.S. Postal people got our card to Desiree on time.

From California’s Central Coast,
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol
and Chloe & Mitzi too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.