Sunshine on plane trees

I’m standing in Champion Square, while walking to the bus after my shift at Fareshare.  On my left is Cabot Circus, a mostly upmarket shopping mall, with House of Fraser and similar.  It was opened in 2008.  There was already a huge indoor mall called the Galleries, and an outdoor pedestrianised network of shopping streets called Broadmead.  I think it is possible to have too many shops - now there are so many empty units in the Galleries and Broadmead it really looks like the recession has taken its toll.  Even Marks and Spencer is closed down.  I imagine Amazon has a lot of liability too. 
On my right is a very different zone, lots of social housing, and various social projects including the City Mission, St Mungo’s and the Friends meeting house, which as well as being the Quaker meeting place is the scene of a lot of food help.  The benches by where I am are a popular place for homeless people to sit in the daytime, it always seems very sociable. 
I think these mighty planes are gorgeous whatever the time of year.
It is very disappointing that a photo that was sharp and well-focussed on my phone is looking very poor here. Oh well. It looks a bit better if you select the alternative view using the button on the right

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.