Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

My doctor rang me again this morning to ask how I was. She’d already rung on Monday, to ask about my A&E visit. I always say, ‘Fine, thanks’ but that’s not strictly true. She wants another test, it’s something that BUPA has recommended they check. So that’s all good!

I went along to the gym, but on some days I really don’t feel like it. In fact, I was decidedly unwilling today. My back is really sore, normally it loosens up after walking a bit. When I say I do 20 minutes on the cross trainer, that sounds pretty good. But I don’t do 20 minutes. I can only do 5 minutes, then a rest. But today I just managed two lots of 5 minutes, I just could not keep going. I then went and sat in the pool area, watching the swimmers and divers. 

I was waiting to meet an old friend Mary, who used to go to our local gym. We were going for a coffee (and pastry) when she finished her session. There is a very good cafe in the venue. Mary is 91, and she’s terrific. Actually, the staff are terrific - they look after her and give her one to one attention twice a week. 

After my obligatory afternoon snooze, we watched a bit more of ‘Happy Valley’. It’s not the ideal way to watch it, one episode right after the other, as it’s unrelentingly grim, even the weather. It’s always raining or thick fog, they’re always drinking huge mugs of tea, nobody ever pulls the curtains at night, everyone is miserable, and there are murders just about every week. In that wee picturesque town! However, we’ll keep going with it, now that we’re half way through… 

This is my view from the cross trainer. There’s always something out there to distract from the pain. (Pastry shop just to the right of the red shop). In the afternoon, if it’s not cloudy, the sun goes down directly into those windows, and the blinds have to come down.

I accidentally got a huge box of Maltesers when I went to get something (healthy) from the shop. I’m sure they help my sore back…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.