Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

I had a very sore back yesterday, which got worse as the day progressed and by evening I could hardly walk. Don’t know why, I didn’t do anything strenuous. However, in the morning, thankfully, it’s back to its normal state - bothersome, but manageable.

I had a lie in (no gym for me today) and then I spent quite a lot of the afternoon on a bus. I had to go and get my shingles and pneumococcal vaccination. It was over the other side of town, and it takes about 40 minutes on the bus, and I’m very glad to have had them at last.

Then I had to sit and wait for an hour in the small queue. There were only six patients, there were far more NHS staff, who were hanging around, yakking, face masks hanging off one ear. Only two jabbing stations were working, and they seemed to take ages, explaining things, asking patients about medical history. ‘Have you ever had HIV or an STD?’ A jab in each arm, and one of them was quite sore! But a Costa coffee and a delicious cinnamon bun helped. I had a good chat with a chap next to me, while he told me of all his ailments. Gosh, I’m in peak health compared to this poor chap.

Ocean Terminal is looking very sad and run down now - it used to be great when it first opened, with lots of cafes, restaurants and shops, including M&S Food. But hopefully with the tram reaching there, and a huge number of new flats in the area, then it’ll be revitalised. It has the Royal Yacht Britannia as a popular attraction. I’ve been a couple of times, and it’s well worth a visit.

Plodding on at speed with Happy Valley. Can’t say I’m loving it - it’s just too depressing for that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.