Vital Sparks

By VitalSparks

Uncle Bob

After seeing the Dambusters Flypast yesterday it seems to still be in the mind today.

I recently rediscovered my Uncle Bob's navigator sight log from his time in the RAF from 1943. The log is from his training period and has only a few pages of entries. No Lancasters mentioned Wellington bombers were they planes he was flying in at that time.

I can't remember if he ever showed us other logs I certainly never had them. I know he was involved across North Africa ferrying replacement aircraft to squadrons stationed there.

Uncle Bob often visited us on holiday and we even had several holidays in Cornwall and N Wales when he was with us. He gave me the log book to use for our car journeys when he saw that I recorded all the places, times and mileages.

It's great to see all that family history as well as the RAF connection.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.