Jupiter 6

On one occasion in my late teens, but while I was still at school, I was at a party, and the guy whose house it was mentioned that he had a synthesiser. By this time, I was hugely into electronic music, but I didn't join my first band until I was at university, and I was desperately excited by anyone who had access to music hardware.

Well, he was a nice guy and he said I could go and have a play on it, which I did. I can still remember the sound, playing low, swirling, magical notes. He mentioned that he was thinking of selling it and I asked him how much for: four hundred pounds! He might as well have said four thousand.

I was reminded of that occasion today by this Roland Jupiter 6 synth that is in the studio. I'm not sure that it's the same model of synth as the one at the party, although that was definitely a Roland, too. As I'm just working on the final section of one of my tracks, 'Düsseldorf', I decided to take inspiration and used Roland Jupiter 6 plugin* for that.

*A digital version of the hardware.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.