Bleak

There were no takers for the ‘sit ootery’ at the Ivy on the Square this morning when I turned up to meet my school friend. There wasn’t even the usual abundance of floral decoration gracing the doorway. It was all very functional and dull as befits a grey February day and with only the hardiest of tourists thinking it worthwhile to pay the city a winter visit, it was also quiet.

Inside was warm and welcoming though and the service faster than usual.
I couldn’t help noticing that while we were being very abstemious with our toast and marmalade, the tables on either side of us were groaning with full English breakfasts. I tried not to look lest I salivated.

Without the sun and although the temperature was 11°, my afternoon walk was dull, bleak and disappointing. No blips jumped out at me, even the crocuses looked a bit dispirited.

The forecast of another cold snap this week with perhaps snow is not welcome news. I don’t think anyone will be sitting at this table in the next few days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.