Under My Thumb

I finally got round to fitting a thumb rest to my new bass. It’s three weeks since I bought it so thought I’d better do something about it, especially as we’ve got a gig tomorrow night.
Guitar players out there may also realise the significance of the protective plastic being peeled off the pickguard. It wasn’t strictly speaking necessary to remove it at this stage but, by doing so, I have demonstrated a commitment to keeping this guitar and not trading it in within the first month.
The more eagle eyed amongst you might also spot that I haven’t taken the protective film off the pickup. I could say that this is because I didn’t want to risk damaging the pickup whilst fitting the thumb rest, but I suspect my more cynical band mates would say it was because I’m still planning on trading it in at some point.
I think some sort of “peeling off the pickup plastic” ceremony could be in order before we start playing tomorrow night…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.